DatsHeadlam

iCon Sports

AFC Preview – Colts Run into Luck

Andrew Luck

Image via Wikipedia

In the late 1990s the San Antonio Spurs had a great team led by All-Star Center David Robinson. Then in the 1996-97 season Robinson got injured and the Spurs went into the tank. That year the Spurs got the number 1 pick in the draft and drafted a future Hall-Of-Fame Power Forward, Tim Duncan. The Spurs went from great to dynasty in one bad year. With the injury of Peyton Manning and possibility he will miss a lot of time this year, the Indianapolis Colts could be headed for a terrible year but is that a bad thing? Manning’s injury and age could mean it is time to look elsewhere and has luck would have it there is a quarterback in college right now that people compare to Manning. Andrew Luck from Stanford could not only be the next Peyton Manning, he could be his replacement in Indy. I start my preview by saying I will not put the Colts in it cause I don’t know when Manning will actually play, if at all. I doubt they make the playoffs either way but if Manning misses a lot of time, the Colts could have found Luck.

AFC WEST

You know the saying “Save the Best for Last”? Well that’s what I am doing here and I will start with the worst division in the NFL. But is this division really bad? I don’t think so because I can see two teams coming out of this division to make the playoffs.

San Diego Chargers – Even Norv Turner can’t screw this up this year right? They even changed the kickoff rule to help this team out. If the Chargers don’t win the division this year, I will nominate Norv Turner for Worst Coach in NFL History. He would replace Rich Kotite.

Oakland Raiders – 2nd Playoff team out of this division. Hue Jackson will be a good coach for this team. He keeps his offense from last year which means Jason Campbell will have the same offense for two straight seasons (1st time in Campbell’s NFL career). The rest of the division is a joke and I feel the Raiders will use this to their advantage.

Denver Broncos – Kyle Orton > Tim Tebow. Still no playoffs or .500 record or respect in Denver.

Kansas City Chiefs – From first-to-worst. This team had an easy schedule and capitalized on the Chargers bad season last year. This year they wake up from their dream season and end up back in the basement.

AFC South

Tennessee Titans – That’s right I am not picking Houston to win this 3 team division. I think Matt Hasselbeck will be a good addition to the team. I feel Kenny Britt will have a good year and Chris Johnson will be Chris Johnson. This team has done it before and despite a change in head coach I feel they are poised to take this division again.

Houston Texans – This team is too soft for me. Their defense is better but not by much and I am not sold on their offense carrying them to a division title. Yes their offense is really good but is it enough? No.

Jacksonville Jaguars – Enjoy Sunshine from Remember The Titans era as your QB for the next few years and years after that if you plan on following the team to Los Angeles.

AFC East

New York Jets – I think this team is more focused on 1st place now more than ever. There schedule isn’t as hard as people are making it out to be. I see them winning that elusive division title.

New England Patriots – I still think this team makes the playoffs but any team that has to rely on Albert Haynesworth and Chad Ochocinco will not go 13-3 again or 12-4. I think they go 11-5 or 10-6 but that won’t be good enough to win the division this year.

Buffalo Bills – I think this team is on the rise. I expect Ryan Fitzpatrick to continue his good play from last year and I can see this team winning a game vs the Jets and Patriots. I don’t think they will finish .500 but……

Miami Dolphins – the Bills are in better shape than the Dolphins. No one likes the Quarterback, the owner publicly went after another head coach while he still had one. This team is a mess and at this point the only normal thing on this team is Brandon Marshall and that’s sad.

AFC North

Pittsburgh Steelers – if you want to know why, just watch their video yearbook from last year and know there best player was injured all of last year.

Cleveland Browns – Surprise!! I think the West Coach Offense will really help out Colt McCoy. I think the pieces are there to make a big push and by pieces I mean playing the AFC South and NFC West. Last time the Browns had a winning record they played the NFC West. I think history repeats itself.

Baltimore Ravens – Eventually that defense will slow down. Eventually Joe Flacco will be asked to do more than he is capable of. Eventually that Ravens swagger will start to fade away. I feel this is the year all of this will happen. However your hot female fans will never fade away.  Best in the league.

Cincinnati Bengals – Their best offensive player just got out of jail. Their 2nd best offensive player retired rather than play for them. Their third best offensive player is in New England. Good luck in the draft next year!

AFC Playoffs:

Wild Card

5. Patriots over 4. Titans – No explanation needed.

3. Chargers over 6. Raiders – Rivalry game, Chargers better team.

Divisional Playoffs

5. Patriots over 1. Steelers – Pats matchup great with the Steelers.

2. Jets over 3. Chargers – Norv Turner on the road, in cold weather??? Come on Man!

AFC Championship Game

2. Jets over 5. Patriots – Jets know how to play the Pats and this game being at home will provide them the emotional edge.

Thursday I will do my NFC Preview…

September 7, 2011 Posted by | Fantasy Football, Media, NFL, Out of the Box | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments